University of Juba

South Sudan has proportionately fewer girls going to school than any other country in the world. According to UNICEF, fewer than one per cent of girls complete primary education and only one schoolchild in four is a girl and female illiteracy is the highest in the world. Education is a priority for the southern Sudanese and they are keen to make efforts to improve the education system.

The following is a list of educational institutions in South Sudan:

The Catholic University of Sudan
The Catholic University of Sudan is a public, Roman Catholic university located in Sudan and South Sudan.

The university, under the management of the Society of Jesus, opened with an agreement of the Minister of Education Science and Technology of the Autonomous Government of Southern Sudan in September 2008.

The Catholic University of Sudan will be based in Juba, South Sudan, with the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, in Wau with the Faculties of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and Engineering (in 2010) and at Comboni College in Khartoum, Sudan, with the Faculty of Computer Sciences.

University of Juba
Juba National University (Arabic: جامعة جوبا‎), commonly referred to as the University of Juba, is a public university in South Sudan.

The main campus of the university is located in Juba, the capital and largest city of the Republic of South Sudan.

Juba University was founded in 1977 in response to the need for higher education in southern areas of Sudan. Due to the Second Sudanese Civil War (1983 - 2005), the university relocated to Khartoum, for safety of staff, students and infrastructure. In 2006, the government at that time agreed to change the name of the university to Juba National University. Following the attainment of independence by South Sudan in July 2011, the university has relocated back to Juba, where it was founded. The university gives instruction in the English language.